Automatic Location Sharing
goTenna devices can share their location over the network manually or automatically. There are several different options when deciding how to share your location over the network.
By default, Automatic PLI updates are set to update your network every 30 seconds. That means every 30 seconds other users on your network will see your updated location.
- You have the option to change the timer between every 30 seconds up to every 5 minutes.
- Advanced PLI: Portal Admins can give users the ability to move to 15 or 5 second PLI updates. These PLI updates require a great deal of battery life and bandwidth and should only be used when absolutely necessary.
Automatic Location Sharing is not a default setting.
- Select “Automatic Location Sharing” from the main menu.
- Select the interval at which you would like to share your location with your teammate
- Once you have chosen your interval, select “Start Automatic Location Sharing” to save the setting.
Image showcasing location update frequency
Problem 1: I can’t see any other users in my group
- Ensure that the user is on the same frequency Set, users on different Frequency sets cannot see each other.
- Ensure that the user is on the same encryption key as the group, users with different encryption keys cannot see each other.
- Ensure that the End User Device has native GPS capabilities. GPS location is derived from the End User device, some devices such as Wi-Fi only tablets will not have GPS.
Problem 2: I can see other GID’s but not their Call signs, how do I know who is who?
- Users must press on the GID from the map or chat window and save them as a new contact for this to update.
- Ensure that each user has setup their callsign in the "Profile" settings.